Bobby Gillespie and Jim Reid

Bobby Gillespie and Jim Reid

Following their appearances at the Austin Psych Festival in May both Primal Scream and The Jesus & Mary Chain have announced North American tour dates.

Slicing Up Eyeballs states that Primal Scream will be playing the following dates:

May 9 – Levitation Festival, Austin, TX
May 11 – NOLA Civic, New Orleans, LA
May 12 – Terminal West, Atlanta, GA
May 14 – Mr. Smalls, Pittsburgh, PA
May 15 – DanForth, Toronto, ON
May 17 – Royale, Boston, MA
May 19 – The TLA, Philadelphia, PA
May 20 – Irving Plaza, New York, NY
May 21 – Warsaw, Brooklyn, NY

Bobby Gillespie’s old bandmates The Jesus & Mary Chain will also be taking their ‘Psychocandy’ tour on the following dates :
May 1 – Canadian Music Week, Toronto, Ontario
May 3 – St. Andrew’s Hall, Detroit, MI
May 5 – Riviera, Chicago, IL
May 7 – Bomb Factory, Dallas, TX
May 9 – Levitation Festival, Austin, Texas
May 11 – Ogden Theatre, Denver, CO
May 13 – Vogue Theatre, Vancouver, British Columbia
May 14 – Showbox, Seattle, WA
May 16 – The Warfield, San Francisco, CA

The US dates will follow their already announced UK dates next month:
Feb. 16 – Guild of Students, Liverpool, UK
Feb. 17 – O2 Academy, Leeds, UK
Feb. 18 – O2 Academy, Newcastle, UK
Feb. 21 – U.E.A., Norwich, UK
Feb. 22 – Rock City, Nottingham, UK
Feb. 23 – Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
Feb. 25 – The Institute, Birmingham, UK
Feb. 26 – O2 Academy, Bristol, UK
Feb. 27 – The Great Hall, Cardiff University, Cardiff, UK

Watch The Jesus & Mary Chain live on The Tube in 1985 below.

C86 sleeve

A Facebook page has been set up for the 2CD reissue of the NME cassette C86. The album originally featured The Pastels, Primal Scream and The Bodines amongst others and is due for release in May 2014.

The updated version will be compiled and annotated by its original curator Neil Taylor. No tracklisting for the extra tracks has been announced yet so keep an eye on their Facebook page. This reissue follows the release of the Scared To Get Happy box set earlier this year.

The tracklisting for the original cassette is below:

Primal Scream – Velocity Girl
Mighty Lemon Drops – Happy Head
Soup Dragons – Pleasantly Surprised
Wolfhounds – Feeling So Strange Again
Bodines – Therese
Mighty Mighty – Law
Stump – Buffalo
Bogshed – Run To The Temple
A Witness – Sharpened Sticks
Pastels – Breaking Lines
Age Of Chance – From Now On, This Will Be Your God
Shop Assistants – It’s Up To You
Close Lobsters – Firestation Towers
Miaow – Sport Most Royal
Half Man Half Biscuit – I Hate Nerys Hughes (From The Heart)
Servants – Transparent
MacKenzies – Big Jim (There’s No Pubs In Heaven)
Big Flame – New Way (Quick Wash And Brush Up With Liberation Theology)
We’ve Got A Fuzzbox And We’re Gonna Use It – Console Me
McCarthy – Celestial City
Shrubs – Bullfighter’s Bones
Wedding Present – This Boy Can Wait (A Bit Longer!)