My Bloody Valentine

My Bloody Valentine have announced details of the release of a trio of re-issues on Monday May 14th 2012 through Sony Commercial Music Group.

They will release their 2 full-length studio albums, Isn’t Anything and Loveless, plus EP’s 1988-1991, a brand new compilation which draws together their 4 EP releases, Feed Me With Your Kiss, You Made Me Realise, Glider and Tremolo alongside 7 additional rare and previously un-released tracks.

The original studio albums have been painstakingly re-mastered by Kevin Shields at Metropolis Studios in London and Loveless comes as a 2-disc set featuring a previous re-mastering from original analogue tapes, completed by Kevin Shields but never released.

Alongside their EPs, the compilation album features a mixture of rare and unavailable and previously unreleased tracks.

My Bloody Valentine remain one of the most unique and thrilling bands of the last 25 years. Sonic pioneers, they stood alone in the late 80s / early 90s, their two albums sounded like nothing that had gone before. Loveless in particular was a breathtaking piece of work exploring the outer reaches of a guitar’s capabilities – it’s no surprise that 20 years later the album is still influencing a new generation of musicians from The Horrors to Radiohead.

Isn’t Anything, released on Creation Records in November 1988, was My Bloody Valentine’s debut long-player. Formed in Dublin in 1983, prior to Isn’t Anything they had released a number of EPs and mini-albums. The album was preceded by You Made Me Realise, an EP which gave some indication of the avant-garde musical direction of the album, which, on release, was heralded as peerless.

Isn’t Anything was Recorded in Wales over a two-week period in the late spring of 1988 and produced by the band and following some personnel changes it featured the line-up of Kevin Shields (guitar, vocals), Bilinda Butcher (guitars / vocals), Colm O Coisoig (drums) and Debbie Googe (bass) which would go on to record and release Loveless 3 years later.

Their second album, Loveless, was released in November 1991. Recorded over a two-year period between 1989 and 1991, the album’s gestation was long and complex with numerous studios and engineers used, yet on its eventual release it was soon apparent My Bloody Valentine had released a hugely innovative, original anddefinitive album, the legacy of which still resonates today.

My Bloody Valentine played a number of shows in 2008, their first in a number of years, including performances at the Roskilde, Benicassim, Electric Picnic,Fuji Rock and Bestival festivals and in 2009 they curated the All TomorrowsParties ‘Nightmare Before Christmas’ event.


The track listings of the albums are as follows:


1. Soft As Snow (But Warm Inside)
2. Lose My Breath
3. Cupid Come
4. (When You Wake) You’re Still In A Dream
5. No More Sorry
6. All I Need
7. Feed Me With Your Kiss
8. Sueisfine
9. Several Girls Galore
10. You Never Should
11. Nothing Much To Lose
12. I Can See It (But I Can’t Feel It)

Disc 1 – Re-master from original tape

1. Only Shallow
2. Loomer
3. Touched
4. To here Knows When
5. When You Sleep
6. I Only Said
7. Come In Alone
8. Sometimes
9. Blown A Wish
10. What You Know
11. Soon

Disc 2 – Mastered from original 1Ž2 inch analogue tapes

1. Only Shallow
2. Loomer
3. Touched
4. To here Knows When
5. When You Sleep
6. I Only Said
7. Come In Alone
8. Sometimes
9. Blown A Wish
10. What You Know
11. Soon

EP’s 1988-1991
Disc 1

1. You Made Me Realise (from You Made Me Realise EP)
2. Slow (from You Made Me Realise EP)
3. Thorn (from You Made Me Realise EP)
4. Cigarette In Your Bed (from You Made Me Realise EP)
5. Drive It All Over Me (from You Made Me Realise EP)
6. Feed Me With Your Kiss (from Feed Me With Your Kiss EP)
7. I Believe (from Feed Me With Your Kiss EP)
8. Emptiness Inside (from Feed Me With Your Kiss EP)
9. I Need No Trust (from Feed Me With Your Kiss EP)
10. Soon (from Glider EP)
11. Don’t Ask Why (from Glider EP)
12. Off Your Face (from Glider EP)

Disc 2

1. To Here Knows When (from Tremolo EP)
2. Swallow (from Tremolo EP)
3. Honey Power (from Tremolo EP)
4. Moon Song (from Tremolo EP)
5. Instrumental no. 2 (distributed on a free 7” with the first 5000 Isn’t Anything LPs)
6. Instrumental no.1 (distributed on a free 7” with the first 5000 Isn’t Anything LPs)
7. Glider (full length version) (B side on the Soon (The Andrew Weatherall Mix) 12”)
8. Sugar (promo only B-Side on Only Sallow LP, France only)
9. Angel (previously unreleased)
10. Good For You (previously unreleased)
11. How Do You Do It (previously unreleased)

You can order the EP’s 1988-1991 by clicking here


4 thoughts on “My Bloody Valentine announce details of reissues featuring unreleased tracks

  1. Pingback: My Bloody Valentine reissue ‘Loveless’ and ‘Isn’t Anything’ | Death and Taxes

  2. Pingback: [Abby's Road] And on the seventh day… | Knox Road

Leave a reply

Hurricane #1 announce tour dates
Swervedriver announce new album
Loaded by Primal Scream turns 25
CRE020 Meat Whiplash - Don't Slip Up